GenRegardless

Music news & reviews, regardless of genre.

Grammy Selections.

The 55th Grammy’s are this weekend, February 10th at 8 p.m., so here is a list of who I would personally select out of the nominees.*

Record of the Year: We Are Young – fun. ft. Janelle Monáe

  • This is such a tough decision. As much as I’d like to give it to Frank for Thinkin Bout You, I just can’t do it.  EVERYONE knows this song.  We Are Young got serious radio play, a Super Bowl commercial, and a Glee cover.  Plus, they played at the huge venue where only real stars are privileged enough to perform, my school, Messiah College….

Album of the Year: Channel Orange – Frank Ocean

  • This became one of my favorite albums of all-time within days of purchasing.  It was the perfect full-length follow up to Frank’s Nostalgia, Ultra.  Ocean not only showed his talent when it comes to vocals and production, but he let the world into his private life by publicly coming out as bi-sexual and thus making the album mean so much more.  The features on this album are great too, not only calling on members of his Odd Future crew (Tyler, The Creator and Earl Sweatshirt) but also talent such as André 3000 and John Mayer.

Song of the Year: We Are Young – fun. ft. Janelle Monáe

  • Same reasons as above, dude!  But I wouldn’t even be mad if Call Me Maybe got the nod.  Will that happen? Never.

Best New Artist: Frank Ocean

  • This has GOTTA be Frank.  Fun. is pretty good, but I would hardly consider them new.  They just finally blew up.  The Lumineers are not really my cup of tea.  If I was a betting man, I’d put my money on Alabama Shakes to nab this one, as multiple magazines/blogs awarded them this title in their end of the year wrap up articles.  However, I really think that Frank deserves the award based not only on Channel Orange., but the potential he shows.

Best Dance Recording: Levels – Avicii

  • I can’t claim to be well versed in the EDM or Dance world.  However, Levels was everywhere this past year.  Bangarang was solid, but even Skrillex took a go at mixing Levels.  It may safely remain one of my favorite dance tracks for a long time and when I think 2012 dance, I will always think Levels first.

Best Rap Performance: N****s In Paris – Jay-Z & Kanye West

  • This is the only performance category I am making a selection on, because it is the only one I can confidently defend.  Kanye’s Mercy was one of my top tracks of the year, but N****s In Paris brings the house down.  Like, flattens it.  Everyone knows it, and the Hit-Boy beat bangs like no other. Maybe give them a Grammy for every time they performed it on their Watch the Throne tour.  That’s a lot of Grammy’s.

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration: No Church In The Wild – Jay-Z & Kanye West ft. Frank Ocean

  • I think my feelings on these gentlemen are evident.

Best Rap Song: Mercy – Kanye West ft. Big Sean, Pusha T, & 2 Chainz

  • 2 Chainz had verse of the year on this jawn.  This song went severely underrated. 

Best Rap Album: Take Care – Drake

  • I honestly don’t understand why this album gets so much negativity.  I have a slight bias towards Take Care, because it got me through a lot.  But, it’s well put together too.  I can listen to any track by itself, but it makes so much sense to listen to together as well.  Well done, Drizzy.  Unfortunately, I think Nas might snatch up this one.

*This list is who I PERSONALLY would like to see get the awards, not a predicition.  Also, as much as I love music, I’m not able to weigh in on every category, so I left out quite a few.  For a full list of nominees and and more info go to http://www.grammy.com/nominees

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Sometimes I Tweet.

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

